15 years and counting…

I used to love art when I was younger. It’s been almost 15 years since I last tried to draw anything. So I decided to pick up a pencil and draw a picture for my mother-in-law’s birthday.

My love of art started at an early age as a way to channel my misplaced energy, it gave me a sense of freedom and focus nothing else in my life could. All the negative feelings seemed to wither away when I put pencil to paper and the world seemed to stop as I became engrossed in my art.

I arrived in the UK around the age of seven. Within 6-12 months I had attended various primary schools in and around my local area and either moved on because of the distance from my home or for not integrating into the school well enough. Let’s just say some of the kids in those schools were not the fondest of a thick African accent and I was bullied a fair few times.

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world”

Nelson Mandela

 

By the time I reached my 3rd primary school, I was allocated a social worker. I met her every couple of weeks and she helped me to control my emotions and channel them through other more creative means. These sessions became a sanctuary from the reality of school life.

When they ended, I remember being very emotional as I had become attached to this kind lady who during our sessions would guide, teach, and encourage me to do better things. She nurtured my love of art and taught me how to express myself creatively.

When our last session had finished she gave me two presents, which would change my life forever. A set of twenty art pencils and an A3 sketch pad. Looking back at this, I am sure she didn’t have to do this as part of her job. She must have seen something within me others had not.

Image by - Philip Ray Photography
Image by – Philip Ray Photography

To say I cherished that gift is an understatement as I remember using that set for a couple of years at least. I would practice my drawing on lesser quality paper and with cheaper pencils and only used the set when I was ready to do my final draft.

My love for art would shape my future decisions, directions and my life. Everything from my mindset to my choice of education, profession and income can be linked to that kind lady who encouraged me to pursue my talent. Because of her I went on to study Art & design for over 10 years ending with a degree in Product Design.

This would not have been possible if she had not nurtured my love of art all those years ago. This just goes to show you how someone who inhabits your life for what in the grand scheme of things is only a fleeting moment, can have such a profound affect on the rest of your life.

Fast forward

As the years rolled by past my academic life, it seemed I had forgotten all about my artistic past. My love for art was replaced by the need to pay the bills. It has been almost 15 years since I last picked up a pencil. My artistic tendencies had been reduced to doodles drawn on office-lined paper, whilst on hold to a receptionist during yet another sales call.

This was the total sum of my artistic engagement until two weeks ago. This is when my wife had the bright idea of me drawing a picture for my mother-in-law’s birthday. At first, I was apprehensive as I had not put pencil to paper in almost 15 years, and there was a deadline of just one week before we had to send off the picture in the post. I decided to commit to it and gave myself little or no option to negate on the commitment. I went out and bought a set of pencils and a sketch pad and over a couple of hours spread out over two days, I produced the below drawing of my two little boys.

John's DrawingThe process was one I have truly loved. I had forgotten how lost in my own world I become when I draw. I leave behind all the stress, worries, anxieties and limitations of the real world and immerse myself into the process.

This morning as I started to write this article, my oldest son at just 3 years old sat on my knee and asked “Daddy, can we draw mummy’s car today?”. I smiled as I have been teaching him over the last few weeks to draw shapes that he can then put together to form a car. And so the cycle continues.

My social worker gave me more than just belief in myself. It was more than a way of channelling my emotions. She has given me something that I can pass on that will outlive even me, something that I can share with my children and possibly that they can share with theirs.

“follow your passion, it will lead you to your purpose

Oprah Winfrey

What I have learnt over these past few weeks is that we take for granted talents we have, the things we do that others can’t, we should cherish these gifts. It is also never too late to rekindle a passion if it’s something that is truly positive in your life and that can enrich those around you.

I started the post with, “I used to love art”, and a friend of mine pointed out “it looks like you still love art”. He’s right, it’s just taken me 15 years to remember.

To that kind lady, I owe you more than words could imagine. This picture is dedicated to you. It is the first of many.

What do you guys think? Comment below & share this post

Leave a comment