image by Paul (Paolo Camera)

Here’s to AP!

I was reading an article in the early hours of this morning on AP McCoy who became the first jockey to ride 4,000 winners and is considered one of the greatest sportsmen of all time.

One thing that stuck out was the below quote which made me understand why he is the jockey with the most wins in history, with this philosophy you could succeed in any area.

“I live in fear of not winning, but I wouldn’t be in this job if I didn’t enjoy what I do. You have to have goals, otherwise you get a bit lazy. I’m one of those people who needs to chase something.”

-Tony AP McCoy

I know you should not be obsessive over anything in life but one thing I will stand by is when you have a clearly defined target in the form of an inspiring goal things seem to flow much better. My success in any area of my life can be put down to having a clearly defined objective, this gives me…

Focus

If I know where I’m heading I am less likely to stray too far off the path. If I do stray I can quickly realign with my course and get back on track.

Clarity

Confusion seems to disappear when my head and my heart are in sync. Distractions are seen to… well, not distract me so much.

A barometer

You need to be able to judge progress. Without this measurement frustration can creep in when you have the occasional bad day and you can lose sight of how far you have come.

 

Here’s to AP McCoy and goals…

 

What do you guys think? Comment below & share this post

Leave a comment